SOUTHSIDE ADVERTISER EDINBURGH / EDINBURGH ENTERTAINMENT & ARTS STAGE & PERFORMANCE REVIEWS 2018

With Edinburgh Entertainment & Arts

Magazines, websites, publications. If you want to use any of our reviews, or commission reviews and interviews please contact with your requirements.

Dracule The King's Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 31st October REVIEW COMING SOON

Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo Festival theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 30th October REVIEW COMING SOON

Virasat - Ustad Shahid Parvez on the Sitar The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Friday 26th October REVIEW COMING SOON

FAME The King's Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 24th October REVIEW COMING SOON

National Theatre's Macbeth Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 23rd October  REVIEW COMING SOON

The Robert Cray Band Usher Hall Edinburgh Saturday 20th October REVIEW

Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 16th October REVIEW

Caro Emerald The Usher Hall Edinburgh Saturday 13th October REVIEW

At Last:The Etta James Story The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Thursday 11th October REVIEW

Rebus Long Shadows The King's Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 10th October REVIEW

Let It Be The Musical Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Monday 8th October REVIEW

John Lees' Barclay James Harvest The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Saturday 6th October REVIEW

Calendar Girls The Musical Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 2nd October REVIEW

Rain Man King's Theatre Edinburgh Monday 1st October REVIEW

Still Alice King's Theatre Edinburgh Tueday 26 September REVIEW

Cara The Queen's Hall Edinburgh  Friday 21st September REVIEW

Richard Alston Dance Company Festival Theatre Edinburgh Thursday 20th September REVIEW

Twelfth Night Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 18th September REVIEW

Ocean Film Festival 2018 Festival Theatre Edinburgh Saturday 15th September REVIEW

Rebels on Pointe Documentary Screening The Festival Theatre Edinburgh Thursday 13th September REVIEW

SNJO Jazz Re-Imagined The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Sunday 9th September REVIEW

I'm With Her - Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Tiesday 28th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Ali Affleck's Storyville Roots of Jazz – Hot Jazz and Cool Blues The Jazz Bar Monday 27th August REVIEW

EIF 2018 St Vincent The Playhouse Theatre Sunday 26th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Blazin' Fiddles with Karen Matheson The Queen's Hall - Queen's Hall Saturday 25th August REVIEW

EIF 2018 Hebrides Ensemble The Queen's Hall Saturday 25th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018  Dome Nights: The Wall – Inspired by the Music of Pink Floyd Dynamic Earth - ShowDome  Friday 24th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018  Dome Nights: Wish You Were Here – Inspired by the Music of Pink Floyd Dynamic Earth - ShowDome  Friday 24th  August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Two Dames, a Piano and a Whole Lot of Giggle Water theSpaceTriplex - Studio  Thursday 23rd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018  Dome Nights: Dark Side of the Moon – Inspired by the Music of Pink Floyd Dynamic Earth - ShowDome  Thursday 23rd August REVIEW

EIF 2018 Pavel Haas Quartet  The Queen's Hall Wednesday 22nd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Good Grief theSpace on the Mile - Space 2 Wednesday 22nd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Rose Room Merchant's Hall - Main Hall Tuesday 21st August REVIEW

EIF 2018 John Grant The Playhouse Theatre Monday 20th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Spotlights Show Choir: A Night at the Musicals Greenside @ Nicolson Square - Emerald Theatre Monday 20th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Medea Electronica Pleasance Courtyard - Pleasance Two Sunday 19th August REVIEW

EIF 2018 La maladie de la Mort  Lyceum Theatre Friday 17th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Infinita Pleasance Courtyard - The Grand Friday 17th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Dust (Movie) Assembly Rooms - Ballroom Thursday 16th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Margo: Half Woman, Half Beast Assembly Rooms - Drawing Room THursday 16th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 The Jive Aces: Swingin’ the Fringe Assembly Checkpoint Wednesday 15th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 The WWI Wardrobe Project Greenside @ Nicolson Square - Fern Studio Wednesday 15th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Christine Bovill's Paris The Stand’s New Town Theatre - Grand Hall Tuesday 14th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Matthew 19:14 Greenside @ Infirmary Street - Mint Studio Tuesday 14th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Christine Bovill's Piaf The Stand’s New Town Theatre - Grand Hall Monday 13th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Mess Greenside @ Nicolson Square - Lime Studio Monday 13th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Dancing With Mrs Murphy Leith Dockers Club - Leith Dockers Club Monday 13th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Circolombia Underbelly’s Circus Hub on the Meadows - The Lafayette Sunday 12th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 First Snow / Première Neige CanadaHub @ King's Hall  Sunday 12th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 A Hatful of Songs Dean Owens The Stand’s New Town Theatre - Lower Hall Saturday 11th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 André Krengel and Roland Krause Acoustic Music Centre UCC Main Room Saturday 11th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Stitch in Time: A Knitting Cabaret theSpace @ Surgeons Hall - Theatre 3 Satirday 11th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 The Steamie Inverleith St Serf's Church Centre - Main Hall Friday 10th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered  Lorna Reid The Jazz Bar Friday 10th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Joan Baez: A Tribute by Miss Irenie Rose theSpace @ Surgeons Hall - Theatre 2 Friday 10th August  REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Piaf and Brel: The Impossible Concert theSpace @ Surgeons Hall - Theatre 1 Friday 10th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Eva Cassidy: The Story theSpace @ Symposium Hall - Amphitheatre Thursday 9th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 The Red Shoes Pleasance Courtyard - Pleasance Beyond Thursday 9th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Noël Coward's Still Life theSpace on the Mile - Space 1 Thursday 9th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Beth Nielsen Chapman The Queen's Hall Wednesday 8th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Cry Me a River: The Songs of Julie London The Jazz Bar Wednesday 8th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Elsa Jean McTaggart: Sing, Strings and New Things theSpace @ Surgeons Hall - Theatre 1 Wednesday 8th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Billie Holiday – Tribute to the Iconic Lady Day  Ali Affleck The Jazz Bar Tuesday 7th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Best of the West End theSpace @ Symposium Hall - Amphitheatre Tuesday 7th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Elsa Jean McTaggart: Hebridean Fire theSpace @ Surgeons Hall - Theatre 1 Tuesday 7th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Simon & Garfunkel: Through the Years theSpace @ Symposium Hall - Amphitheatre Monday 6th August  REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Opera Mouse Pleasance Courtyard - The Green Monday 6th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Dulce et Decorum Est: The Unknown Soldiers theSpaceTriplex - Studio Monday 6th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 In Loyal Company Pleasance Courtyard - Beside Monday 46h August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 The Best of Billie Holiday Mary May Outhouse - The Loft Sunday 5th August REVIEW

EIF 2018 In Cold Blood King's Theatre Saturday 4th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Woodbine Willie: Poet and Padre Greenside @ Nicolson Square - Emerald Theatre Saturday 4th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Heaven Burns Assembly Roxy - Downstairs Saturday 4th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 That Daring Australian Girl Assembly George Square Studios - Two Saturday 4th August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Bon the Musical Greenside @ Nicolson Square - Emerald Theatre Friday 3rd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Dear Lucy...theSpace @ Niddry St - Upper Theatre (Round) Friday 3rd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Misha's GangtheSpace @ Surgeons Hall - Grand Theatre Friday 3rd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Orlando Assembly Roxy - Upstairs Friday 3rd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Dad's Army Afternoon Tea HourPleasance at EICC - Platform 5 Thursday 2nd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 The Famous Five C venues – C -  +1  Thursday 2nd August REVIEW

Fringe 2018 Murder She Didn't Write The Improvised Murder Mystery Pleasance Courtyard Wednesday 1st August  REVIEW

EJBF 2018 Seonaid Aitken, with the Clockwork Strings Assembly Hall Edinburgh Sunday 22nd July REVIEW

EJBF 2018 Fergus McCreadie Trio Piccolo Edinburgh Saturday 21 July REVIEW

EJBF 2018 Zara McFarlane Spiegeltent Edinburgh Friday 20 July REVIEW

EJBF 2018 Rose Room The Spiegeltent Edinburgh Thursday 19th July REVIEW

EJBF 2018 Bratislava Hot Serenaders The Dance The Spiegeltent Edinburgh Tuesday 17th July REVIEW

EJBF 2018 Southern Avenue The Spiegeltent Edinburgh Sunday 15th July REVIEW

EJBF 2018 Lorna Reid: Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered Piccolo Edinburgh Saturday 14th July REVIEW

EJBF 2018 40th Anniversary Jazz Gala Assembly Hall Edinburgh Friday 13th july  REVIEW

Kiss Me Kate Festival Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 4th July REVIEW

An Officer and a Gentleman Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Monday 2nd July REVIEW

John McCusker & Heidi Talbot The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Thursday 21st June REVIEW

Edinburgh International Film Festival Wed 20th June to Sun 1st July 2018 REVIEWS

Titanic The Musical Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 13th June REVIEW

The Last Ship The Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 12th June REVIEW

Dave Milligan Trio and Love Music Choirs  Usher Hall Edinburgh Monday 11th June REVIEW

Redwood Mountain Soundhouse@ The Traverse Theatre Edinburgh Sunday 10th June REVIEW

RURA The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Saturday 9th June REVIEW

The Life and Rhymes of Benjamin Zephaniah The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Friday  8th June REVIEW

Love from a Stranger King's Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 6th June REVIEW

Matthew Bourne's Cinderella Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 5th June REVIEW

Christine Bovill's Paris The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Thursday 31st May REVIEW

String Sisters The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Wednesday 30th May REVIEW

The Blues Band The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Tuesday 29th May REVIEW

Sherlock Holmes: The Final Curtain King's Theatre Edinburgh Monday 28th May REVIEW

Scottish Opera Eugene Onegin Festival Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 23rd May REVIEW

Gretchen Peters with special guest Kim Richey The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Tuesday 22nd May REVIEW

Nils Lofgren: 50 Years...Up the Road The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Sunday 20th May REVIEW

Not Who You Think I Am Southside Community Centre Edinburgh Wednesday 16th May REVIEW

Thriller Live The Festival Theatre Edinburgh Monday 14th May REVIEW

Poppy Ackroyd + support The Queen's Hall Edinburgh  Friday 11th May REVIEW

Birdsong The King's Theatre Edinburgh  Thursday 10th May REVIEW

Wicked Playhouse Theatre  Edinburgh Wednesday 9th May REVIEW

Creditors Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh Thursday 1 May REVIEW

Simon Thacker -Songs of The Roma Summerhall, Summerhall Pl, Sunday 29th April REVIEW

Duncan Chisholm: The Gathering The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Saturday 28th April REVIEW

Vasen in Concert The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Thursday 26th April REVIEW

SNJO Sweet Sister Suite + Music of Mary Lou Williams The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Sunday 22nd April REVIEW

Fat Friends The Musical Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Thursday 19th April REVIEW

War Horse Festival Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 18th April REVIEW

Legend – The Music of Bob Marley The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Friday 14th April REVIEW

Declan O'Rourke plus support The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Friday 13th April REVIEW

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde King's Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 11th April REVIEW

Scottish Ballet Matthew Bourne's Highland Fling Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 10th April REVIEW

Scottish Opera: Ariadne Auf Naxos Festival Theatre Edinburgh Thursday 5th April REVIEW

Crazy For You Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 3rd April REVIEW

Rumours of Fleetwood Mac – 40 Years of Rumours The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Saturday 31st March REVIEW

Tim Kliphuis Trio The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Friday 30th March REVIEW

This House Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 27th March REVIEW

The Case of The Frightened Lady King's Theatre Edinburgh Monday 26th March REVIEW

Joan Osborne Sings the Songs of Bob Dylan The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Saturday 24th March REVIEW

Northern Ballet's The Little Mermaid Festival Theatre Edinburgh Thursday 22nd March REVIEW

The Play That Goes Wrong Festival Theatre Edinburgh Monday 12th March REVIEW

Ballet Hispánico: Carmen Festival Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 6th March REVIEW

Blood Brothers Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Monday 5th March REVIEW

The Rat Pack Live From Las Vegas Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 27th February  REVIEW

Simon And Garfunkel Through the Years -BOOKENDS Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sunday 25th February REVIEW

SNJO: Peter & The Wolf The Queen's Hall Edinburgh Saturday 24th February REVIEW

Cirque Berserk Festival Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 21st February REVIEW

The Weir The King's Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 20th February REVIEW

The Belles Stratagem Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh Saturday 17th February REVIEW

Pressure The King's Theatre Edinburgh Wednesday 14th February REVIEW

This is Elvis Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Monday 12th February REVIEW

The Tommy Smith Quartet Embodying the Light The Queen's Hall Edinburgh  Sunday 28th January REVIEW

King King The Queen's Hall Edinburgh  Friday 26th January REVIEW

The Lover Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh Tuesday 23rd January  REVIEW

Miss Saigon Festival Theatre Edinburgh Friday 19th January REVIEW

Flashdance The Musical Playhouse Theatre Edinburgh Monday 15th january REVIEW

Banff Mountain Film Festival 2018 Festival Theatre Edinburgh Saturday 13th January REVIEW

Silent Cinema The Cabinet of Dr Caligari Festival Theatre Edinburgh Friday 12th January REVIEW

 

REVIEWS

ARTICLES

&

INTERVIEWS

Magazines, websites, publications. If you want to use any of our reviews, or commission reviews and interviews please contact with your requirements.

TOM KING

http://tomkinguk.weebly.com/

FREELANCE WORDS, LYRICS,  REVIEWS  ART  PHOTOS

LISA SIBBALD

HOMEPAGE PAST REVIEWS 2017 PAST REVIEWS 2016
PAST REVIEWS 2017

All reviews are copyright Entertainment Edinburgh / Southside Advertiser or the review writer and may not be used or reprinted in whole or in part in any medium whatsoever without the written permission of Entertainment Edinburgh / Southside Advertiser or the review writer.

We do however make exception for artists, companies and theatres involved in any review to use reviews (or part of) for their own promotion and publicity